Home » Practitioners » Professor Jon Watson



108 Drummond St Nth,
Ballarat VIC 3350
Phone: 03 5331 8289
Fax: 03 5331 2545
Email: appointments@specialistcentreballarat.com.au

Professor Jon Watson

Professor Jon Watson

Jon Watson was born and educated in the UK.  He attended Cambridge University for his undergraduate degrees in medicine (BA and MA in Medical Sciences), and Oxford University for his clinical studies (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery). 

He trained as a physician and gastroenterologist in Oxford, London and Newcastle upon Tyne.  Whilst working in Newcastle upon Tyne he was awarded a PhD for studies into Hepatitis C Virus infection and liver disease. He was awarded the European Certificate of Completion of Specialist Training (CCST) in 1998.

He then migrated to Australia, with his family. He practised, researched and taught in Ballarat, Stawell, Newcastle and Geelong.

He is now Professor of Medicine and Dean of the School of Medicine, Faculty of Health, Deakin University Geelong. 

He has clinical appointments at Geelong Hospital, Geelong Private Hospital, St John of God Hospital (Geelong and Ballarat), Ballarat Day Procedure Centre, Epworth Hospitals and Stawell Hospital.

He has maintained an active research interest in Hepatitis C Virus (HCV) related liver disease, having published on HCV in peer reviewed journals, presented on HCV at national and international meetings for the last 20 years and has been Meeting Organiser twice for the Australian Gastroenterology Society's annual meeting.  

He was appointed in 2012 to the National Examining Panel of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians. He is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of London and a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physcians. 

In 2014 he complete a Graduate Certificate in Medical Education with the University of Dundee Medical School, Scotland.

He serves as a Board Director for both Kardinia Health Geelong and the National Centre for Farmer Health in Hamilton, Victoria. In January, 2016 he was appointed as National Board Chair for the Australasian College of Sports Physicians.